Skip to main content
Digital Markets Act (DMA)


On 6 September 2023 the European Commission designated for the first time six gatekeepers - Alphabet, Amazon, Apple, ByteDance, Meta, Microsoft - under the Digital Markets Act (DMA). On 29 April 2024, the Commission designated Apple with respect to its iPadOS, its operating system for tablets, as a gatekeeper under the DMA. On 13 May 2024, the Commission also designated under the DMA, Booking as a gatekeeper for its online intermediation service In total, 24 core platform services provided by those gatekeepers have been designated.

list of designated gatekeepers and their core platform services


Download the Designation Decision

Meta Platforms, Inc.

Microsoft Corporation